Cannon Charitable Trusts

Charles A. Cannon Charitable Trusts

Upon Charles A. Cannon’s death in 1971, the Trusts were established to carry on the works in which he was interested during his lifetime.

Mariam & Robert Hayes Charitable Trust

The Mariam and Robert Hayes Charitable Trust was established through the will of Mariam Cannon Hayes.

Designated Beneficiaries

The Charles A. Cannon Charitable Trusts can award grants only to named beneficiaries. Review the lists below to determine whether your organization might qualify for a grant under the terms of the Trusts.

Click on each type of project to expand the listing.

Higher Education

Barton College |Brevard College | Cabarrus College of Health Sciences | Catawba College | Converse University | Davidson College | Duke University Law School | Hayes School of Music at Appalachian State University | Hood Theological Seminary | Lees-McRae College | Lenoir-Rhyne University | Livingstone College | Lutheran Theological Southern Seminary | Methodist University | North Carolina Community College System | Pfeiffer University | Queens University at Charlotte | Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary | University of Mount Olive | Wingate University


Appalachian Regional Healthcare System | Cabarrus Healthcare Foundation | Carolinas Medical Center NorthEast-Atrium Cabarrus | Charles A. Cannon, Jr.  Memorial Hospital | Novant Health Rowan Regional Medical Center | Stanly Regional Hospital-Atrium Stanly


Boys & Girls Club of Cabarrus County | Cabarrus County Library System | Cabarrus Health Alliance | Cabarrus Victims Assistance Network | Church of God Children’s Home | Coltrane L.I.F.E. Center | Community Free Clinic | Cooperative Christian Ministry of Cabarrus County | North Carolina Department of Natural & Cultural Resources | Rowan-Cabarrus YMCA | Stanly County YMCA | The Salvation Army of Cabarrus County | The Salvation Army of Stanly County


Eighteen church denominations in Alamance, Cabarrus, Rowan, and Stanly counties, NC, and Pickens and York counties, SC are supported by the Trust.

A.M.E. Zion Church | Assemblies of God | Baptist Church* | Church of God | Church of the Nazarene* | Episcopal Church* | Evangelical Lutheran Church (ELCA)* | Free Will Baptist Church* | Lutheran Church in America (LCA) | Lutheran Congregations in Mission for Christ (LCMC) | North American Lutheran Church (NALC)| Pentecostal Holiness Church | Presbyterian Churches* | Roman Catholic Church | The Lutheran Church-Missouri Synod (LCMC) | The Wesleyan Church | United Church of Christ | United Methodist Church*

* In the United States

Beneficiaries are drawn from a list of organizations suggested by Mrs. Hayes or included by the Trustees. The Mariam and Robert Hayes Charitable Trust does not accept unsolicited requests.

The Hayes Family Charitable Trust, a grant maker administered by the Foundation for the Carolinas, Charlotte, NC, is separate and distinct from The Mariam and Robert Hayes Charitable Trust.  The Hayes Family Charitable Trust also does not accept unsolicited requests.


  • Trustees
    William C. Cannon, Jr., President
    Edwin S. Outen, Vice-President
    Joseph C. Hunter, Secretary
    Brittian L. Leatherman, Trustee
    Matt Fallaw, Representative for Pinnacle Financial Partners - Corporate Trustee

  • Trustees
    William C. Cannon, Jr.
    Joseph C. Hunter
    Elizabeth L. Quick

Cannon Charitable Interests
Post Office Box 548
Concord, North Carolina 28026